A permit is issued to the “change [the] entrance of the picture gallery,” giving the public direct access to the Main Gallery through a new entrance at 1608 21st Street. On occasion, visitors can also enter the Music Room (North Library). Previously entry was through the formal double-staircase entrance at 1600 21st Street and possibly through a “basement” entrance on Q Street. The new entrance at 1608, pictured above, allows visitors to enter and go directly to a small elevator, delivering them to the second floor Main Gallery.
Today, the museum has two main entrances: Q Street for office visitors and the Sant Building on 21st Street for museum visitors.